Missouri Broadcasters Association Announces 2023 Scholarship Recipients

$11,000 awarded to Missouri students pursuing broadcasting careers

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo., April 28, 2023 – The Missouri Broadcasters Association announced Friday that the association and the MBA Foundation awarded four scholarships to Missouri students studying to be broadcasters.

Jace Opel is this year’s recipient of the MBA/Don Hicks Scholarship. He receives a $4,000 award. Jace attends Missouri Southern State University where he is a Mass Communications major. Jace was sponsored by Lisa Olliges-Green, the General Manager of KGCS-TV at Missouri Southern State University.

Savannah Reinke receives a $2,500 scholarship. She attends Carrolton High School, and plans to attend the University of Missouri in the fall majoring in Mass Communications. Savannah was sponsored by Jenny Carter with Carter Media.

Maddy Majors attends Nevada High School. She receives a $2,500 scholarship to continue her education in the fall. Her top choice is the University of Missouri. Maddy was sponsored by Mike Harbit with Harbit Communications.

Samantha Walker attends the University of Missouri and is majoring in Broadcast Journalism. She receives a $2,000 scholarship. Samantha was sponsored by Mark Zimmer of Zimmer Marketing – Joplin.

An applicant must be a full-time student enrolled or planning to enroll in a broadcast or related curriculum, which provides training and expertise applicable to a broadcast operation, and have a GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, or equivalent.

“We are pleased to help students who are studying to be future broadcasters in Missouri,” said Chad Mahoney, President/CEO of the Missouri Broadcasters Association.

“Based on these applicants, the future of Missouri broadcasting is bright. All are very deserving of these scholarships.”

The Missouri Broadcasters Association is based in Jefferson City and represents 373 Radio and TV stations.