The Missouri Broadcasters Association presented 235 MBA Awards, inducted seven people into the MBA Hall of Fame and presented four special awards during its annual convention held June 1-3 at Margaritaville Lake Resort.

MBA Hall of Famer Bob Priddy hosted Friday night’s Hall of Fame Banquet during which the MBA inducted:

  • Dick Bott – The founder of Bott Radio Network, a national leader in Christian Talk Radio.
  • Bob Costas – The 29-time Emmy winner’s early broadcasting days are traced back to KMOX Radio in St. Louis.
  • Karen Foss – The St. Louis television icon spent 30 years as an anchor/reporter at KSDK after getting her broadcasting start in Kansas City.
  • Tom (deceased) and Ralph Oakley – The father-son duo each served as President and CEO of Quincy Media, Inc., the company that launched the first TV station in Northeast Missouri.
  • Bill Wilkerson (deceased) – The St. Louis broadcasting icon’s career spanned over four decades from sports play-by-play to morning show host.
  • Marion Woods – The Missouri broadcaster has been in the business for more than 60 years and continues to host a morning show at KOKO-AM in Warrensburg.

“The MBA is proud to recognize these broadcasters and their legacy in our state and industry,” said Chad Mahoney, President and CEO of the Missouri Broadcasters Association. “We were happy to see the ballroom filled with fellow broadcasters to honor these icons.”

The Station of the Year awards were among the awards presented during Saturday night’s annual MBA Awards Banquet hosted by KMBC-TV Anchor Kris Ketz and Odle Media Group Owner Chelley Odle.

The radio stations of the year are KFMO in Park Hills (small market), KSGF in Springfield (medium market) and KMOX in St. Louis (large market).

The television stations of the year are KMIZ in Columbia (small market), KYTV in Springfield (medium market) and WDAF in Kansas City (large market).

Additional awards included:

  • The Distinguished Broadcaster Award to KYTV General Manager Brian McDonough.
  • The President’s Award to College of the Ozarks Professor of Journalism Erin Hayes Dennis.
  • The Friend of Missouri Broadcasters Award to Thompson Coburn Attorney Mark Sableman.
  • The Lifetime Member Award to Tom and Shawn Marhefka, who are retiring with their sale of Ozark Marketing Company in West Plains.
  • The Lifetime Member Award to Mark Gordon, who is retiring after serving 10 years as MBA President and CEO.

The MBA also held a Thursday evening retirement reception for Gordon and played a video in his honor during Saturday night’s banquet.

“All of us at the MBA office appreciate Mark’s more than 40 years of service to the broadcast industry, including a decade as our MBA President,” Mahoney said.

“When I think of Mark Gordon, I will always think of his ethics, professionalism and friendship. He is truly one of the good guys in our business and he has more than earned his retirement. We wish Mark well in the adventures he and his wife Lucy have planned together.”

For a complete list of 2023 MBA Award winners, visit https://www.missouribroadcasters.org/2023-mba-awards/